University of Tennessee

Behn Honored with Faculty Merit Award by Federation of Schools of Accountancy

April 25, 2018

Bruce Behn, associate dean for graduate and executive education at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville’s Haslam College of Business, has been awarded the FSA/Joseph A. Silvoso Faculty Merit Award (FSA) by the Federation of Schools of Accountancy.

The annual award, created in 1983, honors the outstanding contribution by a faculty member in a post-baccalaureate professional program of an FSA member school.

“Bruce’s tireless commitment to higher education in the field of accounting, the discipline’s professional associations and our institution is self-evident,” said Stephen L. Mangum, dean and Stokely Foundation Leadership Chair at Haslam. “He has lead our Graduate and Executive Education division to numerous successes both in terms of nationwide and industry recognition. As a faculty member, his devotion to his students is unwavering. I’d like to congratulate Bruce on this award, of which he is highly deserving,”

Behn, the Deloitte Professor in Accounting, joined the college’s Accounting and Information Management department in 1994 after completing his doctorate at Arizona State University. He holds an MBA from Arizona and a bachelor’s degree from the University of Wisconsin, Madison. Prior to obtaining his Ph.D., he worked for Rockwell International in Uithoorn, The Netherlands, as the international financial coordinator, and for Allen-Bradley as a controller and financial analyst, as well as for KPMG Peat Marwick in the role of senior auditor.

Behn is currently on the International Accounting Education Standards Board and is a Council Member at Large of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants. He recently chaired the Pathways Commission and is a past president and vice-president of the American Accounting Association (AAA), past president of the International Accounting Section (AAA) and the Federation of Schools of Accountancy (FSA), as well as past chair of the AICPA’s Pre-certification Education Executive Committee. He has been the recipient of a number of teaching awards including the AAA’s Innovation in Accounting Education award, UT’s Alumni Outstanding Teaching award, and the Tennessee Society of CPAs Outstanding Educator of the Year award.