University of Tennessee

Chancellor’s Honors Awards

May 6, 2019

Faculty, staff, and students were recognized for their outstanding achievements at the annual Chancellor’s Honors Banquet in April, the university’s largest recognition event of the year.

Three Haslam College of Business seniors were recognized for their academic achievement, leadership, and outstanding service with the university’s highest student honor, the Torchbearer award. They are Xavier Greer, of Memphis, a member of the Greg and Lisa Smith Global Leadership Scholars Program majoring in accounting; Jack Larimer, of Brentwood, Tennessee, a Haslam Scholar double majoring in economics and political science; and Mickayla Stogsdill, of Knoxville, a Chancellor’s Honors student majoring in public administration and Russian studies.

Marianne Wanamaker, an associate professor of economics at Haslam, was presented the Alexander Prize. Named for former UT president and now US Senator Lamar Alexander and his wife, Honey, this award recognizes superior teaching and distinguished scholarship.

Additional 2019 awards went to Haslam students, staff, and faculty in the following categories:

2019 Extraordinary Academic Achievement

  • Ashton Fowler
  • Whittney Lee
  • Avery Morgan
  • Julia Rizor

2019 Extraordinary Campus Leadership and Service

  • Patrick Sonnenberg

2019 Extraordinary Community Service (Faculty or Staff)

  • Alex Miller

2019 Extraordinary Community Service (Students and Organizations)

  • Grant Williams

2019 Extraordinary Professional Promise

  • Ryan Cunningham
  • Tyler Davis
  • Sarah Estes
  • Kendall Grafton
  • Jasmen Grant
  • Xavier Greer
  • Richmond Hall
  • Charles Hampton
  • Matthew Holt
  • Jessica Howard
  • Sullivan McInturff
  • Avery Morgan
  • Layla Mosadegh
  • Reid Olson
  • Griffin Palmer
  • Hetvi Patel
  • Jackson Shires
  • Victoria Smith
  • Jared Worsham

2019 Scholar Athlete Awards

  • Shannon Brooks
  • Abigail Craine
  • Sadie Hammond
  • William Heflin
  • Allison Herring
  • Robert Hughes
  • Trey Quealy
  • Timothy Ray
  • Jessica Rizor
  • Julia Rizor
  • Wesley Robinson

2019 Top Collegiate Scholar Awards

  • Eunice An
  • Iris DeVault
  • Nicholas Lauerman
  • Whittney Lee
  • Reid Parker
  • Brittany Reid
  • Alexia Vacca

2019 Excellence in Advising

  • Betsy Gullett