Four Haslam Faculty Members Receive Named Appointments

August 4, 2020

Melissa Cardon, Kelly Hewett, Georg Schaur and Marianne Wanamaker have been appointed to four named positions in the Haslam College of Business.

Melissa Cardon

Melissa CardonCardon has been chosen as the Haslam Professor in Entrepreneurship and Innovation, an endowment established by James A. and Natalie L. Haslam in 2007. Cardon’s recent research has focused on entrepreneurial passion, one of many entrepreneurial and organizational behavior topics on which she has published work in management journals rated premier and excellent. She has been invited to several prestigious editorial review boards and is co-editing special issues in the Journal of Business Venturing and Journal of Organizational Behavior later this year.

Cardon mentors doctoral students whose topics focus on entrepreneurship. With David Williams, she served as co-liaison for the Anderson Center for Entrepreneurship and Innovation in planning the Babson conference, the largest academic entrepreneurship conference in the world. The event was slated to be held in Knoxville in June 2020 and has been rescheduled for 2023.


Kelly Hewett

Kelly Hewett

Hewett has been named the Reagan Professor of Business. Alma and Hal Reagan, who support multiple areas throughout Haslam and the University of Tennessee, created this endowment in 1978. 

“Kelly’s selection for this well-deserved honor is commensurate with her many accomplishments as a marketing strategy scholar, impact and reputation in our field, visibility as editor of the Journal of International Marketing, and her demonstrated commitment to the success of our students at the doctoral, masters and undergraduate levels,” Alex Zablah, head of the marketing department at Haslam, said.


Georg Schaur

profile photo for Georg SchaurGeorg Schaur has been chosen as the Leigh Burch III Economics Professor. Burch (HCB, ’79, ’81), who has taught economics courses at several universities over the years, established this endowment in 2019.

Schaur’s work has appeared in the top field journals of environmental economics, health economics and economic education. A leading expert on trade policy and promotion, he has empirical trade research projects ongoing with some of the top researchers in the field and has published this type of research in elite outlets.

Schaur serves as co-editor of Economic Inquiry and as associate editor of the Journal of Economic Behavior and Organization, the Review of International Economics and the Journal of Economic Education. He served as academic director of the Haslam economics MBA program from 2013 to 2019, and now serves as director of graduate studies for the department.


Marianne Wanamaker

Marianne Wanamaker SmilingMarianne Wanamaker is now the George A. Spiva Scholar. The endowment was created in 1986 by two-time UT alumnus Phillip Merritt.

Widely published in top journals, Wanamaker’s research centers on economic history, labor, education and policy. Her paper with Marcella Alsan, “Tuskegee and the Health of Black Men,” published in 2018 in the Quarterly Journal of Economics, was awarded the Kenneth Arrow Prize for the year’s best paper in health economics.

Wanamaker has been senior labor economist and chief domestic economist on the President’s Council of Economic Advisers and now serves on the Federal American Workforce Policy Advisory Board. She is a research associate

of the National Bureau of Economic Research and co-editor and incoming co-editor-in-chief of Explorations in Economic History. For her teaching, Wanamaker has won multiple awards, including the 2019 Alexander Prize, which recognizes a UT faculty member for exceptional teaching and scholarship. 


Stacy Estep, business writer/publicist,