Updates and Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Haslam College of Business Awards Honor College’s Best

April 28, 2015

The Haslam College of Business Awards were announced on April 21 as part of an annual celebration honoring faculty and staff for their extraordinary achievements.

Three staff awards were conferred for excellence in customer responsiveness, professionalism, and innovation and creativity.

Libby Magill received the Outstanding Staff Award for Superior Customer Responsiveness, recognizing her positive attitude and ability to create great outcomes for all stakeholders within Graduate and Executive Education. Magill’s nominators said, “She goes beyond the call of duty every day. She is always stepping up if issues arise and always doing so with a smile.”

The Tim Williams Outstanding Staff Award for Professionalism was awarded to two recipients this year. The award winners who tied for the honor were Kathy Zelem of the economics department and Tami Touchstone, who works in the Office of the Dean. Zelem was said to have “mastered professionalism status” by one of her nominators, and Touchstone was described as “a person who would make Mr. Haslam proud.”

Jeannie Goodman of the Department of Finance was honored with the Innovation and Creativity Award for her commitment to efficiency and constant evaluation of how departmental resources may best be utilized.

Two awards were given for research: the Vallett Family Outstanding Researcher Award and the Michael J. Stahl and Gregory M. Bounds Graduate Research Award.

The Vallett Award was given to Georg Schaur for his prolific publication in economics. Schaur has nine journal publications since 2010 including a piece in the prestigious American Economic Review. He also is editor of the Journal of Economic Education.

Dallin Alldredge, a finance doctoral student, received the Graduate Researcher Award for his work addressing issues across disciplines. As a third-year student he was published in the Journal of Financial Economics, one of the top three journals in finance.

The Allen H. Keally Graduate Teaching Award went to Doug Ayres of the Department of Accounting and Information Management. Ayers’ nominators said that he “takes his teaching responsibility very seriously, often meeting with students outside his appointed office hours. His students value him as a teacher and a source of good advice for their careers.”

Phillip Daves was presented with the Richard C. Reizenstein Outstanding Commitment to Students Award for meritorious service to students beyond the classroom.

Daves is an associate professor in the finance department, leads the college’s Greg and Lisa Smith Global Leadership Scholars program and still finds time to mentor students.

Jackie Jacobs was recognized for her excellence as a teacher of management with the Allen H. Keally Outstanding Teacher Award. The presenters lauded Jacobs’ enthusiasm and use of technology and current events to demonstrate the relevance of material.

The Martin and Carol Robinson Outstanding Teaching, Research and Service Award recognizing Haslam’s best “all around” faculty member was presented to Ted Stank, the marketing and supply chain department’s Bruce Chair of Excellence in Business. Besides being a great teacher and researcher, Stank serves as the chair of the board of directors for an international supply chain professional organization with about 90 percent practitioners as its membership. He regularly confers with the industry’s top professionals and has become a thought leader in the field.

The final award of the evening, the Diversity and Inclusion Award, was presented to Randy V. Bradley, an assistant professor in the Department of Marketing and Supply Chain Management. Students wrote comments noting their gratitude for Bradley’s dedication and support, his confidence in their potential, as well as his guidance as a mentor and advisor.