University of Tennessee

Haslam Staff, Students and Alumni Recognized at UT Chancellor’s Honors Banquet

May 5, 2017

Eighteen students, two staff members and an alumna were honored recently as part of the University of Tennessee, Knoxville’s 2017 Chancellor’s Honors Banquet. The banquet is held each spring to recognize students, faculty, staff and friends of the university for their extraordinary achievements.

Carson Hollingsworth, a public administration major, received the university’s highest honor, the Torchbearer Award. Hollingsworth served as president of the Student Government Association and volunteered for Habitat for Humanity, the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation and Random Acts of Flowers. Read more about Hollingsworth and his fellow recipients. 

Glenda Hurst, an administrative support assistant for the Department of Management, received an award for Extraordinary Customer Service. Hurst has worked in the department for decades, and students and faculty members attest to her welcoming demeanor and positive disposition. Read more about Hurst and her fellow recipients.

Michelle Harding, a doctoral student in accounting, and Hayley Pennesi, a senior in marketing, were honored with Extraordinary Community Service awards. Harding works with the undergraduate chapter of the National Association of Black Accountants as well as the Knoxville Area Urban League Young Professionals, and she founded the Multicultural Graduate Student Organization. Pennesi coordinated the alternative break program.  Read more about Harding, Pennesi and their fellow recipient.

Laura Trainer, an advising coordinator for Haslam’s undergraduate programs, was recognized with an Excellence in Advising award. Trainer’s nominators cited her ability to develop relationships despite a heavy workload. Read more about Trainer and her fellow recipients.

Mintha Roach, a Haslam alumna who serves on the college’s Dean’s Advisory Council, received the Notable UT Woman Award recognizing a female faculty or staff member, student or alumna whose accomplishments bring great distinction to the university. Roach is president and CEO of the Knoxville Utilities Board and has volunteered for multiple local non-profits and efforts to support UT. Read more about Roach.

Kelsey Bawcombe, Cameron Brown, Parker Henry, Taylor Johnson, Ariel Kupritz, Camryne Morris, Lucia Polo Gavez, Worrick Robinson, Jack Schipanski and Jackson Smith received Extraordinary Academic Achievement and Outstanding Scholar Athlete awards. See all the Outstanding Scholar Athlete recipients and Extraordinary Academic Achievement recipients.

Sarah E. Gomillion, Scott Thomas Lancaster, Mariah Alexis Reliford, Bryan Coble Shrader and Nicholas Connor Veith received Top Collegiate Scholar Awards. See all recipients.