University of Tennessee

Moon Honored With Teaching Fellowship

May 10, 2021

Mark Moon, associate professor of marketing at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville’s Haslam College of Business, has been named the 2021 winner of the Lee and Allison Herring Endowed Teaching Fellowship in Marketing.

Alex Zablah, head of Haslam’s marketing department, commended Moon for his ability to create deep connections with large groups of students.

“He has had tremendous impact while teaching very large sections of the introductory marketing course, where you would think it would be nearly impossible for a faculty member to truly ‘reach’ students,” Zablah said. “His impact on students in this setting speaks to his incredible talents as a professor and makes him the ideal recipient for the Herring award.”

This is the second time the fellowship has been awarded. Mark Collins, distinguished lecturer of marketing and director of technology-enhanced education at Haslam, received the inaugural honor in 2020.

Moon said he is proud to join Collins as a recipient of the award. “Mark is a tough act to follow, and I’m honored to be recognized along with him,” Moon said. “I’m also very grateful to the Herring family for establishing this award, which is an important step forward in recognizing the importance of teaching excellence in the Haslam College of Business.”

Since joining the UT faculty in 1993, Moon has taught at the undergraduate, MBA and Executive MBA levels. He is currently the Lyle and Marcella Flaskurud Faculty Fellow and the director of the Greg and Lisa Smith Global Leadership Scholars Program.

Allison Herring (HCB, ‘19) was a marketing major and member of the Lady Vols golf team. Her mother, Lee, also has a marketing degree. To give back to Haslam and honor the marketing department specifically, the family established an endowed gift that recognizes outstanding marketing faculty members. The fellowship’s terms stipulate that the winner be chosen by the dean’s office in collaboration with the marketing department head.

As the 2021 winner, Moon received a monetary award.

Stacy Estep, writer/publicist (