Economics

Greer Seminar Series

The Greer Seminar series allows Haslam faculty and graduate students to meet world-class economists. It provides an opportunity to see the latest advances in research before they have been formally published and provides exposure for our department.

Topics addressed in the Greer Seminar Series have varied from how football upsets cause intimate partner violence, to the development of new statistical techniques for exploring income inequality.

Unless otherwise noted, the seminar is typically held at 3:30 p.m. in Stokely Management Center, 701.
 

Fall 2017 Workshops

Monday, September 11 Maximilian Todtenhaupt- Centre for European Economic Research (ZEW) – Paper title: “Fiscal Competition and Public Debt”
Monday, September 18 Matthew Zaragoza-Watkins- Vanderbilt, Paper Title: TBA
Monday, October 16 John Rust – Georgetown, Paper Title: TBA
Monday, October 23 Jason Lindo – Texas A&M, Paper Title: TBA

Previous: Spring 2017

Monday, February 27 Andrew Goodman-Bacon, Vanderbilt University -Paper Title: “The Long-Run Effects of Childhood Insurance Coverage: Medicaid Implementation, Adult Health, and Labor Market Outcomes”
Monday, March 20 Lucija Muehlenbachs, University of Calgary – Paper Title: Price Regulation and Envirronmental Externalities: Evidence from Methane Leaks”
Monday, March 27 Scott Imberman, Michigan State University – Paper Title: “Neonatal Health, Race, and Special Education Identification”
Friday, April 7 Christopher Timmins, Duke University – Paper Title: “Learning by Viewing? Social Learning, Regulatory Disclosure, and Firm Productivity in Shale Gas”
Monday, April 17 Lauren Berquist, University of California Berkeley – Paper Title: “Pass-through, Competition, and Entry in Agricultural Markets: Experimental Evidence from Kenya”
Friday, April 21 Petra Todd, Univeristy of Pennsylvania – Paper Title: “Personality Traits, Intra-household Allocation and the Gender Wage Gap”