Recent Graduate student award winners

J. Fred and Wilma Holly Award for Published Research

For best peer-reviewed publication in an economics journal in prior calendar year.

Determined by vote of tenured/tenure-seeking faculty.

Awarded in May (HCB PhD awards ceremony)

2023: Diego Guerrero 2021: Hieu Nguyen 2020: Hieu Nguyen

2018: Yancheng Xiao

2017: Fanning Meng

2016: No viable options

2015: Jilleah Welch 2014: Natalia Gritsko

Charles B. Garrison Award for Excellence in Teaching

For best teacher (sole-responsibility).

Determined by undergraduate committee.

Based on Spring/Summer/Fall of prior calendar year.

Awarded in May (HCB PhD awards ceremony).

2023: Trinity Douglass

2022: Michael Charysh

2021: Richard Beem

2020: Hossen Md. Deluair

2019: Ben Meadows

2018: Adrienne Sudbury

2017: Yancheng Xiao

2016: skipped due to change in cycle

2015: Rebecca Davis

2014: Justin Roush and Clay McManus

Charles B. Garrison Award for Best Graduate Assistant

For best RA/TA.

Determined by graduate committee.

Based on Sum/Fall/Spring of prior calendar year.

Awarded in May (HCB PhD awards ceremony).

2023: Thomas Verville

2022: Ryan Swartzentruber

2021: Richard Beem

2020: Ge Wu

2019: Bokseong Jeong

2018: Beth Glenn

2017: John McMahan

2016: skipped due to change in cycle

2015: Rebecca Davis

J. Fred and Wilma Holly Award for Excellence in Presented Research

For best brownbag seminar (excl. job market).

For current academic year, based on aggregate ratings provided by faculty following each seminar.

Awarded in May (HCB PhD awards ceremony).

2023: Lucas Garces

2022: Alannah Shute

2021: Josh Norris

2020: Vasudha Chopra

2019: Ben Meadows

2018: Adrienne Sudbury

2017: Yancheng Xiao

2016: Lawrence LaPlue

2015: Fanning Meng

2014: Ahiteme Houndonougbo and Clay McManus

J. Fred and Wilma Holly Award for Excellence in Research

For best second-year paper.

Determined by third-year paper committee.

Awarded in August (Fall welcome reception).

2022: Ryan Swartzentruber

2021: Ivan Anich

2020: Cathy Wu

2016: Yancheng Xiao

2015: Beth Glenn and Bongkyun Kim

2014: Lawrence LaPlue

J. Fred and Wilma Holly Award for Best First-Year Graduate Student

Determined by vote of PhD core profs.

Awarded in August (Fall welcome reception).

2022: Thomas Verville and Trenton Marable

2021: Ryan Swartzentruber

2020: Lucas Garces

2016: Adrienne Sudbury

2015: Yinan Liu

2014: Lia Yin