Brown Bag Workshops

The Brown Bag Workshops hosted by the Department of Economics are held Friday’s at noon in Haslam Business Building, room 132, unless otherwise noted.

Fall 2023 Schedule

  • August 25, 2023
    Ryan Swartzentruber
  • September 1, 2023
    Ketki Sheth
  • September 8, 2023
    Alannah Shute
  • September 15, 2023
    Maria Padilla-Romo
  • September 22, 2023
    Prabuddha Prakash
  • September 29, 2023
    Prubesh Balgobin
  • October 6, 2023
    Nate Neligh
  • October 13, 2023
    Diego Guerrero
  • October 27, 2023
    Michael Kofoed
  • November 3, 2023
    Ivan Anich
  • November 3, 2023
    Lucas Garcez
  • November 10, 2023
    Gabe Abeyie
  • November 17, 2023
    Trinity Douglas
  • November 24, 2023
    Thanksgiving
  • December 1, 2023
    Matt Harris

Spring 2023 Schedule

  • January 20, 2023
    Cathy Wu – Paper Title: “Do Wildfires Harm Students Learning?”
  • February 3, 2023
    James Lake – Paper Title: “Tokyo Drift: US Specific Tariffs Around the Tokyo GATT Round”
  • February 10, 2023
    Nate Neligh – Paper Title: “Active Memory Re-encoding”
  • February 17, 2023
    Matt Van Essen – Paper Title: “Wisdom of the ‘Bidding’ Crowd”
  • March 10, 2023
    Andrew Hanson – Paper Title: “Lender of Last Rites: Impact of Foreign US Treasury Demand”
  • March 17, 2023
    Spring Break – No Seminar
  • March 24, 2023
    Seth Neller – Paper Title: “Do Place-Based Factors Affect Healthcare System Choice? Evidence from Dually Eligible Veteran Movers”
  • March 31, 2023
    Diego Guerrero – Paper Title: “Business as Usual? The impact of the EITC on firm dynamics”
  • April 14, 2023
    Lucas Garcez – Paper Title: “My Parents Are Not Home: Parental Employment and Teenage Fertility.”
  • May 5, 2023
    Gabriel Abeyie – Paper Title: “Identifying Oil Price Shocks Using Oil Market Reports: A Textual Analysis”
  • May 12, 2023
    Ivan Anich – Paper Title: ““Exceptional Dispatch: How Potential Solar Generation Breaks the Electric Grid”

Fall 2022 Schedule

  • Wednesday, August 24, 2022
    TBD
  • Wednesday, August 31, 2022
    TBD
  • Wednesday, September 7, 2022
    TBD
  • Wednesday, September 14, 2022
    TBD
  • Wednesday, September 21, 2022
    Ivan Anich – Paper Title: “How trade affects adoption of emissions abatement equipment”
  • Wednesday, September 28, 2022
    TBD
  • Wednesday, October 5, 2022
    Alecia Evans – Post-doctoral scholar in the Baker Center will present – Paper title: “Noisy Payoffs in an Infinitely Repeated Prisoner’s Dilemma – Experimental Evidence”
  • Wednesday, October 12, 2022
    TBD
  • Wednesday, October 19, 2022
    TBD
  • Wednesday, October 26, 2022
    TBD
  • Wednesday, November 2, 2022
    TBD
  • Wednesday, November 9, 2022
    TBD
  • Wednesday, November 16, 2022
    TBD
  • Wednesday, November 30, 2022
    TBD

Spring 2022 Schedule

  • Friday, March 11, 2022
    Prubesh Balgobin – Paper Title: “Empirical assessment of the impact of (California) Protected Areas on the location choice of industrial establishments. A county level approach”
  • Friday, March 25, 2022
    Michael Brown – Paper Title: “Effects of Air Pollution on Physical Performance”
  • Friday, April 1, 2022
    Lucas Garcez – Paper Title: “Provision of Education and Teenage Fertility”
  • Friday, April 8, 2022
    Diego Guerrero – Paper Title: “Do slum upgrading programs impact school attendance? Evidence from Uruguay”
  • Friday, April 22, 2022
    Dressel Cruz – Paper Title: “Tax Competition and its Fiscal Effects on Local Governments”
  • Friday, April 29, 2022
    TBD
  • Friday, May 6, 2022
    TBD
  • Friday, May 13, 2022
    Alannah Shute

Fall 2021 Schedule

  • Friday, August 27, 2021
    Richard Beem – Paper Title: “Broadband Internet and Business Activity.”
  • Friday, September 3, 2021
    Vasudha Chopra – Paper Title: “Are we doing more harm than good? Hypothetical bias correction techniques in potentially consequential survey settings”
  • Friday, September 10, 2021
    Bokseong Jeong – Paper Title: “Behavioral Responses to Changes in Enforcement Priorities”
  • Friday, October 8, 2021
    Ge Wu – Paper Title: “Do Wildfires Harm Students Learning?”
  • Friday, October 15, 2021
    Ivan Anich
  • Friday, October 22, 2021
    Prubesh Balgobin
  • Friday, October 29, 2021
    Michael Brown
  • Friday, November 5, 2021
    Lucas Garcez
  • Friday, November 12, 2021
    Diego Guerrero
  • Friday, November 19, 2021
    Dressel Ruiz
  • Friday, December 3, 2021
    Ben Blachly
  • Friday, December 10, 2021
    TBD

Spring 2021 Schedule

  • Wednesday, February 10, 2021
    Bokseong Jeong – Paper Title: “Refugees and Crime in Germany (Revised)”
  • Wednesday, February 17, 2021
    Josh Norris – Paper Title: “New Technology Adoption and Industry Emission Dynamics”
  • Wednesday, February 24, 2021
    Richard Beem – Paper Title: “Failure to Launch: Measuring the impact of Tax Base Erosion of Business Formation”
  • Wednesday, March 17, 2021
    Matt Van Essen – Paper Title: “Peer Evaluation: Exploiting Truth telling as a Social Norm”
  • Wednesday, April 7, 2021
    Maria Padilla-Romo – Paper Title: “Long-term spillover effects of violence”
  • Wednesday, April 14, 2021
    Nathan Neligh – Paper Title: TBD
  • Wednesday, April 28, 2021
    Andrew Hanson – Paper Title: “Fiscal Bubbles”